- Architectural heritage
- Guided tour and discovery
Nestled in the eastern townships of the Haute s Fagnes, this castle from the 14th century overlooks Ovifat from the top of its peak.
Built in 1352 by Renaud de Waimes, the castle was home to many noble families, such as the Nesselrode, the Nassau and finally the counts of Metternich, who reigned over the region for more than three centuries. Left derelict during the French Revolution, it was entirely rebuilt in 1969 and is nowadays a living museum. There you can discover armours, weapons and halberds, tapestries and period furniture.
The annual medieval fair has a different theme each year and activities to delight adults and children alike.
- Duration: 1h15
- Free for children under 6
- Groups and schools welcome all year, booking required.
- The opening times can be found on the castle's website. They may change if a private event is hosted on site.
Individual visits: outside only.
Opening times: Saturdays ans Sundays at 11 am, noon, 1, 2 3 and 4 pm. Wednesdays at 2.30 pm.
Public and school holidays: every day but Fridays at 11.20 and, 1 and 2.30 pm
Information sur la promenade
- Outdoor catering
- Car parking