- Architectural heritage
Nestled in the eastern townships of the Haute s Fagnes, this castle from the 14th century overlooks Ovifat from the top of its peak.
Built in 1352 by Renaud de Waimes, the castle was home to many noble families, such as the Nesselrode, the Nassau and finally the counts of Metternich, who reigned over the region for more than three centuries. Left derelict during the French Revolution, it was entirely rebuilt in 1969 and is nowadays a living museum. There you can discover armours, weapons and halberds, tapestries and period furniture.
The annual medieval fair has a different theme each year and activities to delight adults and children alike.
- Duration: 1h15
- Free for children under 6
- Groups and schools welcome all year, booking required.
- The opening times can be found on the castle's website. They may change if a private event is hosted on site.
The castle is open all year (except for January)
- on weekends and public holidays
- Tuesdays to Thursdays during (Belgium and Netherlands) school holidays: Carnival, Easter, Ascension, All Saints, Whitsunday, Christmas and Nea Year
- Saturdays and Sundays: 11h, 12h, 13h, 14h, 15h and 16h.
- Additional visits:
Wednesdays at 2.30 pm
Public holidays: 11h30, 13h and 14h30
School holidays: every day except for Fridays at 11h30, 13h et 14h30
In the case of snowy weather, please phone to check whether the site is accessible.
- Outdoor catering
- Guide available/groups
- Car parking