- Architectural heritage
The Palais des Princes-Evêques (Palace of the Prince-Bishops) is an iconic on the Place Saint-Lambert, at the heart of Liège.
Also known as Liège's episcopal palace, it is now home to the provincial government on one side and the court of justice on the other.
Two buildings preceded the present palace. The first, built by bishop Notger, was integrated with the fortifications. It was destroyed in the fire of 1185.
The second burnt too, in 1505. It was reconstructed in the most magnificent and original way by Erard de la Marck.
Please not that only the first courtyard of the palace can be visited by the public.
Guide available/groups - FR